Program and Organizing Committee

2022 KSEA West Gulf Coast Regional Conference

December 10th Sat., 2022
Houston Methodist Hospital Conference Center (RI Auditorium)


9:30 – 10:30 AM

10:30 – 11:00 AM

Registration, Check-in, and Coffee/Breakfast

Opening Remarks (Chair: Kyuson Yun, Ph.D.)

  • Ambassador: Myungsoo Ahn

    • Consul General of the Republic of Korea in Houston

  • Jung Hwan Kim, Ph.D.

    • President, KSEA-ST

    • Assistant Professor of Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Keynote lecture (Chair: Crystal Shin, Ph.D.)

Peter Jay Hotez, M.D., Ph.D.

Title: TBA

Dean for the National School of Tropical Medicine

Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Virology & Microbiology

Baylor College of Medicine/ Texas Children’s Hospital

12:00 – 12:45 PM

12:45 – 2:15 PM

2:15 – 2:30 PM

2:30 – 3:45 PM

3:30 – 3:45 PM

3:45 – 5:15 PM

5:15 – 5:30 PM

5:30 – 5:45 PM

5:45 – 6:00 PM

6:00 – 8:00 PM


Faculty Research Presentation (Chair: Goo Jun, Ph.D.)

5-minute presentation from faculty members

Coffee Break

Technical Discussion (Chairs: Drs. Kyuson Yun, Ph.D., Sung Yun Jung, Ph.D.)

15-minute presentation from Illumina, 10x Genomics, and Nanostring

Open discussion

Coffee Break

Trainee Research Presentation (Chair: Jung Hwan Kim, Ph.D.)

5-minute presentation from trainees (graduate student, postdoc)


Faculty/Trainee Research Award (Chair: Hyuntaek Oh, Ph.D.)

Closing Remarks (Chair: Kyuson Yun, Ph.D.)


Organizing Committee

Conference Chair Kyuson Yun

Program Organizer Hyuntaek Oh

KSEA South Texas Goo Jun, Sung Yun Jung, Jung Hwan Kim, Kyung Hyun Lee, Crystal Shin

KSEA North Texas TBA

KSEA Austin Texas TBA

KSEA Texas Coastal Bend TBA

KSEA Arkansas TBA